top of page

Manga success of Japanese artists should encourage different ways of looking.

Wahaaj with Greg Agnew


When we received an article from Greg Agnew, a Huddersfield student about manga, it started a lively conversation amongst the editorial team. In a world dominated by industry standardisation, popular art written for young people appears very much as though it is filtered through a solitary western lens. Whilst Manga has been influenced by western culture, some argue manga and anime has helped the Japanese retain some elements of their identity. Isn't there a certain aesthetic to manga?


Whilst this should not be considered as the sum total of Japanese culture, it is one of many Japanese ways of looking. It was this aspect of manga that we were initially interested in but as we scoured the web for more information it became clear quickly, manga has itself spurred young readers to create new identities. It has become more than an introduction to how young readers all over the world see Japan. Perhaps art students across the globe, will find, by taking a look into their own cultural background and defining aesthetics of their heritage,  they will find something special to bring into their art.


But now, Greg will tell us all about Manga:



Ah, the world of Manga! There is a lot to be said about it. If you do not know what Manga is, I shall explain. Manga is an art-based Japanese novel and you read it from right to left. So, you start at the back (like you would do with an Arabic book!). It sometimes includes fantasy, comedy, or adventure.



I first encountered Manga at the age of 11. It was your usual kind of introductory Manga: Dragon Ball, Naruto, etc (if you don’t know what these are, look them up on the internet and you will instantly understand what I’m talking about). When I first saw Manga, I was amazed by how it was drawn. My mother then realised that I liked it and took me down to a Manga club at our library in Huddersfield. It was incredible fun indeed!


I decided that I might have a go at drawing in this style, and I must say, that my later attempts didn’t turn out all that bad! A friend of mine there, then told me that this sort of creation could be animated and that it was called ‘Anime’. I was bewildered. As soon as I got home, I looked on Google to check. Sure enough, he was right. Now, at the age of 12, I am obsessed with this one particular Anime: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure. It combines a bit of fantasy, comedy, and fantastic clothing designs. It is created by Hirohiko Araki.




Here are some Manga and Anime that I recommend you to start on:


· Naruto

· Dragon ball Z

· Full Metal Alchemist

· My Hero Academia

· Death Note

· Bleach

· Attack on Titan

· Haikyu!!!

· Soul Eater

· Assassination Classroom


My advice is to watch the Anime first, because it captures your imagination faster. But you can view it in any way you want. You can also read the Manga on an e-book, maybe through your library or watch the Anime for free on an app called Crunchyroll.



Next time I’ll share with you some good internet places you can head to, to draw Manga.






210 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page